Outstanding Journalists

It is because of lists like this one that my reading pile never gets smaller:

This month, the Arthur L. Carter Journalism Institute at New York University celebrates the hundredth anniversary of journalism education at N.Y.U. As part of their celebration, the journalism faculty, together with an Honorary Committee of alumni, have selected “the 100 outstanding journalists in the United States in the Last 100 Years.” Among those honored are twenty-four New Yorker writers, including Hannah Arendt, James Baldwin, Truman Capote, Rachel Carson, Dexter Filkins, Philip Gourevitch, John Hersey, Seymour Hersh, A. J. Liebling, Jane Mayer, John McPhee, Joseph Mitchell, and E. B. White, as well as the editors David Remnick and William Shawn. To mark the occasion, we have gone through our archives and matched each New Yorker writer with one of his or her best-known pieces.

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s